Austin Public Utility Attorney
Austin Public Utility Lawyer Find out more about us News & Events Publications Contact Us

Austin Lawyers: Electric and Telecommunications Law

The Public Utility Commission of Texas is responsible for protecting electric and telecommunications ratepayers from unduly high rates in the absence of competition, and licensing the construction of new transmission lines. In areas where electric or telecommunications companies have a monopoly, the Public Utility Commission of Texas is often the only institution that can hold a public utility's drive for profit in check for the benefit of consumers. But in these highly complex and political cases, public utilities will attempt to circumvent that responsibility and place their shareholders' interests as a higher priority than their ratepayers.

At Herrera Law & Associates, PLLC, we represent municipal governments on behalf of ratepayers in litigation against public utilities in a range of electric and telecommunications law issues. Whether a public utility is seeking to raise electric rates due to increased expenses, or construct an above-ground transmission line through a residential area - thereby decreasing the property value of the affected neighborhoods - we help municipal governments seek the best possible outcome for their constituents. Attorney Alfred Herrera and his associates have more than 25 years of experience in the areas of electric and telecommunications law that they can apply to their client's case. To speak with them about your municipality's legal issue, contact our firm.

Herrera Law & Associates, PLLC
816 Congress Ave, Ste 950
Austin, TX 78701
(512) 474-1492

Herrera Law & Associates, PLLC provides legal counsel and representation for municipalities and municipally owned utilities in Austin and across the state of Texas, including Georgetown, Round Rock, Pflugerville, Cedar Park, Leander, Lakeway, Westlake, Bastrop, Elgin, Wimberley, Kyle, Buda, Corpus Christi, and Brownsville, TX. We practice primarily in Williamson County, Travis County, and Hays County.